The Society of Film Directors is an association of filmmakers founded on June 14, 1968, with the mission to ‘defend the artistic and moral freedoms and the professional and economic interests of filmmaking and to participate in the development of new structures for cinema’.

Born one day of anger, the SRF remains faithful to its original vocation. Aware that its action is part of a prestigious tradition that has always brought together French filmmakers to defend their art, it has never ceased to confirm its representativeness. The removal of Henri Langlois from the head of the Cinémathèque Française, then his triumphant reintegration thanks to the support of the filmmakers, the interruption of the Cannes Film Festival in 1968, soon followed by the Etats Généraux du Cinéma held in Suresnes, were the milestones that led to the creation of the Société des Réalisateurs de Films by filmmakers such as Jacques Rivette, Robert Bresson, Claude Berri… and, in 1969, of the Directors’ Fortnight.

Chaired this year by Lucie Borleteau, Vergine Keaton, Thomas Bidegain, and counting nearly 300 members, the SRF defends the point of view of all filmmakers – whether they make fiction, documentary or animation, short and/or feature films. It promotes the diversity of cinematographic creation in an economy where the search for a balance between market forces, state action and the interests of creators is an ongoing struggle.

From scriptwriting to the distribution of films in cinemas, from copyright to the chronology of the media, from the digitisation of works to the evolution of the French audiovisual landscape, from social rights to human rights… the author is at the centre of all the questions raised by cinema. Over the years, the Société des réalisateurs de films have thus acquired real expertise in the sector. A true «filmmaker’s house”, it takes part in all professional negotiations and discussions, to promote the central role of the director in the creative process.

On the strength of this experience, she decided to create the SRF School
Whether by inviting speakers who are “experts” on a subject, or by defining the subjects themselves with a professional dimension, the Ecole de la SRF intends to develop knowledge of the film sector, among filmmakers and the general public, by regularly inviting other professionals (scriptwriters, producers, distributors, publishers, institutions, etc.). In the manner of its working groups, operating on a cross-disciplinary basis, the SRF likes to cross genres, in a dynamic of industry solidarity and general interest.Beyond its purely pedagogical dimension, the SRF school also intends to be a meeting place for filmmakers and, more broadly, all those curious about cinema. This moment of sharing experiences ends, after each screening, with a time of conviviality around a cocktail. Each session is free of charge and is also open to specialized schools and various partners of the association.

Events organized by the SRF
She created La Quinzaine des Réalisateurs at Cannes in 1969 and the Rencontres Européennes du Moyen Métrage in Brive in 2004.
 Every year, the SRF directors award the Carrosse d’Or to a filmmaker for his or her body of work.
 The SRF is also present at the Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival.



General Delegate: Rosalie BRUN

Deputy General Delegate: Raphaël LAFORGUE

Communication: Samia BRAHIMI

Administrator: Marie-Ange ESTRADA


Co-Presidents: Lucie Borleteau, Vergine Keaton, Thomas Bidegain

Secretary: Emmanuel Gras

Treasurer: Frédéric Farrucci

The SRF is continuing its work on short films and documentaries.
This year, it is also forming, for the first time, a group dedicated to animation.

Short film delegate: Alexandre Lança

Documentary delegate: Maxence Voiseux

Animation delegate: Sébastien Laudenbach

Are also members of the Board of Directors: Matthieu Bareyre, Antoine Barraud, Malik Chibane, Romain Cogitore, François Farellacci, Rachid Hami, Audrey Jean-Baptiste, Anna Novion, Valérie Osouf, Axelle Ropert, Thomas Salvador, Pierre Salvadori, Claire Simon, Aurélien Vernhes-Lermusiaux


All filmmakers are eligible for membership in the Society of Filmmakers.

For directors of short films, the membership fee is a minimum of 40 euros.
For directors of one or two feature films, the minimum fee is 80 euros.
For directors of three or more feature films, the minimum fee is 100 euros.


Site SRF

Find all the SRF news on our website, on our Facebook page and on Twitter!